The Lost Order (Cotton Malone #12)

Title:  The Lost Order (Cotton Malone #12)

Author:  Steve Berry

Pages:  512

Year:  2017

Publisher:  Minotaur Books

My rating 5 out of 5 stars.

Steve Berry is a new author to me whom I learned about through a friend who has enjoyed his other novels in the Cotton Malone series.  Now, I am hooked!  This author’s writings are well-researched and he keeps the reader’s attention with the history period setting of the story.  I loved the novel too as there was no sexual stuff in the book and the pace of the tale was gripping, making it hard to put down but easy to pick the story right back up when I wanted to read.

At the end of the book, the author explains which parts of his fictional work are factual and which parts are made up from his imagination.  The man who is known as Cotton comes from a line of men who have served the country and Cotton works for the Justice Department occasionally now after retirement.  No matter who is involved, Cotton goes after the truth and his best weapon is his very sharp intellect.

Cotton also has a girlfriend who has worked many cases with him whose name is Cassiopeia and together they are a formidable duo.  They know each other well and they are getting to a place where it might be time to consider a slower pace as their romance is blooming.  The story takes place at times in the Smithsonian Institute with a treasure missing since the Civil War and other artifacts.  There is danger, murder, intrigue, romance, history, politics, and more.

I was engaged from the moment I opened the book until I had to put it aside to take care of real life.  Yet, I couldn’t wait until the quiet of the late evening to again get lost in the many interactions between formidable characters and the search for gold that includes a key, maps, and avoiding those intent on getting to the gold first at all costs!

So, if you’re like me, and this would be your first novel by the author, I really think you will enjoy the book!  I plan on reading the other 11 novels in this series each with its own unique setting and historical facts with fiction that together make for a wonderful story!  Trust me, this novel will leave you wanting more from Steve Berry!

Leave a Reply

