A Trail of Crumbs (A Novel of the Great Depression)

Title:  A Trail of Crumbs (A Novel of the Great Depression)

Author:  Susie Finkbeiner

Pages:  320

Year:  2017

Publisher:  Kregel

My rating 5 out of 5 stars.

The first novel I read by Susie Finkbeiner was A Cup of Dust, which is a story of the dust bowl, and it was really good.  Now, she presents a story that brings some of the characters from the other book into a new story, which is set during the great depression.  Now don’t think that Susie focuses on the Great Depression; she leads us on a journey where her characters must leave the Dust Bowl to go to another state.  There is where the family, having recently lost a child and asked to raise another by a friend, must learn life in a new county while grieving and adjusting to life without dust everywhere.

There were many surprises in the book and I thought for sure the author was going to take the story in a certain direction that seemed like a good idea at least to me.  However, the author leads us to understand true family and what it can be based on and learning to put one foot in front of the other when unexpected choices are made that impact the heart of the main character, Pearl Spence.  At this time, she is just a young girl who has gone through so much abandonment and has questions galore while learning how reading can help her cope in daily life.

The church the Spencers go to is nothing like they are used to, but Pearl likes how this preacher speaks and the way he shares truth from the Bible.  Pearl’s aunt encourages her imagination and helps her explore the wonderful world of various stories.  I loved the aunt for her carefree, loving and accepting heart which Pearl needed desperately.

I sat down to read the book thinking it would take me days to get through when I found myself unable to put it down and completed it in one sitting.  I was pulled in by the heart, emotions and circumstances described in the tale and how Pearl’s grandmother had deposited so many nuggets of wisdom in Pearl’s heart when she was alive.  What a beautiful example of how our words and actions may not seem to make a difference at the moment, but later can blossom into hope in the heart of a listener!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

