Grace & The Preacher

Title:  Grace & The Preacher

Author:  Kim Vogel Sawyer

Pages:  352

Year:  2017

Publisher:  WaterBrook

My rating 4 out of 5 stars.

Romance, history, fiction and in a sense a couple of unusual characters…what a story!  The female character is Grace who is postmistress and being pressured to settle for less than what her heart desires.  Theo, with a past he regrets and can’t seem to get far enough away from, feels as though it’s right on his heels!  Well, in one sense, it is as those who went to jail are bent on making him pay as they brand him a coward for failing to do one thing.

I have read a variety of Kim’s books and for the most part enjoyed them a lot; this one seemed to move a little slow at the beginning.  The dragging out of the meeting between Grace and Theo caused me to lose interest at first.  I knew they were the focus of the novel, but there was no suspense to keep me in the pages like her other novels.

I love historical fiction with a little romance but also with some action, adventure, mystery and/or just something to make the story pop off the page.  Unfortunately, for me, this one just didn’t pop.  I will still read other Kim Vogel Sawyer books because her novels always have a strong theme of faith throughout the story.  I hope that the next novel the author presents has more action, adventure or mystery that helps me stay up to finish the book long into the night!

So, read the book as it does progress after some chapters.  It might not seem slow at first to you like it did for me.  While we wait to see what she presents next, read her other stories as they were very enjoyable!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

