The Seekers (The Cooking Class #1)

Title:  The Seekers (The Cooking Class #1)

Author:  Wanda Brunstetter

Pages:  320

Year:  2017

Publisher:  Shiloh Press

My rating 5 out of 5 stars.

While I know the author is very prolific in telling her stories, she is brand new to me.  I am glad to get to know her writing through this story as she is an excellent storyteller!  Here is a unique tale that weaves together real lifelike characters with all sorts of different backgrounds from an unwed single mom to a Vietnam veteran just to name a few.  Being an avid reader, this is the first time I remember a veteran being a character in an Amish story and the author does wonderful job in portraying the hard time soldiers have when they return home.

Heidi is an Amish woman who begins teaching cooking classes is barren with lots of time on her hands and  a husband unwilling to adopt because he believes God will give them children.  The other students who attend her class all have unique and dissimilar backgrounds and experiences.  With each class and recipe, Heidi shares a Scripture verse on the recipe cards she writes out for her students.

Throughout the book what kept me glued was the way the author let me see into each character’s life, including small peeks into their backgrounds.  I got to enjoy reading how they begin as absolute strangers and progress to a small knit group that shows care and concern for each other.  On top of that, it was interesting to see how the marriage between Heidi and her husband Lyle changed as they worked though their disagreements as well as loved, encouraged and walked through life together.

I highly recommend reading this story to see how such different people can come together and learning to care about more than themselves while learning to cook!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

