Control Girl (Lessons on Surrendering Your Burden of Control from 7 Women in the Bible)

controlgirl

Title:  Control Girl (Lessons on Surrendering Your Burden of Control from 7 Women in the Bible)

Author:  Shannon Popkin

Pages:  216

Year:  2017

Publisher:  Kregel Publications

My rating is 5 out of 5 stars.

The study is both a challenge to surrender to God and a reminder of who really is in control.  I appreciated the author first sharing transparently her own desire for happiness that she ended up ruining by trying to control well, everything or everyone.  While I can boast in the Lord in the fact He has helped me overcome a lot of my own attempts at control, there are still areas where I am reminded to surrender it all to God.  It’s scary isn’t it?  Letting go and waiting to see what comes, especially when the waiting time for hope to be fulfilled can definitely be an exercise of the prayer muscles!

The study can be done individually or as a small group.  Visiting the author’s website is helpful as there are additional aids for the Bible study.  There is encouragement in the study as women learn about other women from the past whose struggles with control can teach us many truths about the God we love and serve.  There are Scriptures, some helpful insights from the author and then questions for women to seriously contemplate.  The author suggests writing in a journal, which I highly recommend.  It can be private and space to write is unlimited.  Plus, using a journal and then going back sometime to see what was written can be an eye opening experience for the one who wrote in the journal.  Also, it is a testimony to the next generation that they aren’t alone in learning to surrender to God and how He taught someone they knew to let go.

Learning to let go and surrender to God seems to be a lifelong process to me.  Some days I am more open to surrendering and not controlling than others, but that isn’t the main point.  The point is seeing how God is transforming me so I reflect more of Him and less of me.  The more we surrender the more we are at peace.  Believe me, people notice simply by looking at one’s face.  When you’re done with the study, keep it on the shelf of your home library to refer back to, do the studies again sometime down the road or draw wisdom from re-reading.

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

