Deep Water

deepwater

Title:  Deep Water

Author:  Christine Poulson

Pages:  256

Year:  2017

Publisher:  Lion Fiction

My rating 4 out of 5 stars.

The author has written four other novels prior to her latest book though I haven’t read them.  Deep Water takes place in the United Kingdom and therefore it might take readers a moment to understand the American equivalent.  The story is one of suspense that crosses the scope of science, law, and ethics.  There isn’t a strong theme of faith though it is implied by the actions of one character in particular, which I will let readers discover themselves.

It took me a little bit to get involved in the story as some of what was happening in the science community was beyond my purview.  However, as I continued to read more, the tension increased in many ways between characters, the science community and one family in particular.  There wasn’t a whole lot of action or adventure in the book, which I think would have brought more enjoyment.

Just so readers know there a few uses of foul language early in the novel and vague references to relations though in a martial framework.  In the tale, there is no mention of any body parts or crude descriptions in any way.  I liked the plot line of coming up with a drug to fight obesity and the race for a patent as seen through more than one nation’s laws.

I thought some of the science got confusing as at times it sounded like more than one race for a cure was going on and later I learned that it was in fact happening.  So readers need to know it isn’t about a cure for one cure and the race that ensues along with the danger of sabotage in the lab more than once.  I read the book in one sitting which did help me to follow the story to its conclusion though I am one who had hoped for a different ending.  Either way it’s a good novel that I think many will enjoy with the tension and happenings, especially in the scientific community.

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

