Getaway with God (The Every Woman’s Guide to Personal Retreat)

getawaywithgod

Title:  Getaway with God (The Every Woman’s Guide to Personal Retreat)

Author:  Letitia Suk

Pages:  160

Year:  2016

Publisher:  Kregel

My rating is 4 out of 5 stars.

Getaway with God is a book that encapsulates many ideas for making various amounts of time away for a woman to meet with God alone.  Women today have many pressures and demands pulling at them constantly like never before.  As these demands ebb and flow along with the nurturing makeup of women, we forget to take time to refresh ourselves.  While women’s church retreats have their place, for me they weren’t very refreshing as I usually come home more tired.

In college, I learned more about making time to be quiet and alone with God.  Of course, with different seasons of women’s lives it looks different and sometimes we need help with ideas as to the “how” of making time alone with God.  I like that the material is presented in a religious manner but one of personal heart to heart matter.  Women can’t give out of empty cisterns whether to their family, friends, works, etc.  When we make and take the time to get away with God, we can be refreshed, renewed, gain a new perspective and perhaps a new direction in life where God is leading.

When you get your copy, I suggest making time within a few weeks to go grab coffee or whatever beverage you prefer, a calendar and notebook.  Set dates in pencil for the year of when you’d like to get away with God, and in the notebook what you would like or sense God is speaking to you.  Then, be purposeful in following though and at the end of the year look back and see what God has done!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

