The Peace Maker

thepeacmaker

Title:  The Peace Maker

Author:  Michele Chynoweth

Pages:  310

Year:  2016

Publisher:  Morgan James Publishing

My rating is 5 stars.

Michele Chynoweth has written a brilliant and quite believable modern day fictional story that is based on the Old Testament account of David and Abigail.  Readers will want to read 1 Samuel chapters 8 through 25 to acquaint themselves with the historical true account when they encounter the fictional characters in this novel that bring to life the encounters between an angry, self-centered commander in chief with a man who is after God’s own heart.

Before reading the novel, the author reveals her list of fictional characters that are crafted to resemble the Biblical characters in the Bible.  We meet Chessa Reynolds whose heart of compassion and care for others represents Abigail in the Bible.  We meet Leif Mitchell who is a singer/songwriter and part owner of a horse ranch who is sought out to serve in public office by a wise elderly man.

I found this book to be one of the best I have read based on Biblical people and events in a long time!  Being very familiar with the Biblical account of David and Abigail, I was really intrigued as to how the author took an ancient story and made it so believable in a modern setting.  I have read enough news headlines, especially in the political arena, to see the parallel of Abigail and David’s story in the characters of Darren Richards, Chessa Reynolds and Leif Mitchell.

Darren is crafted to be like the Biblical Nabal, who is a man with a temper and cares for no one other than himself.  Chessa is Abigail’s counterpart in the novel and her heart longs to help the hurting and broken people even though she is married to a mean man who is abusive.  Leif is the character crafted to resemble David, a human who fails at times but whom God restores and elevates so that his life will bring Him glory.

I couldn’t put the novel down until I had completely read the book; there were times I forgot I was reading a fictional book as it seemed so real.  I forgot it was meant to reflect David and Abigail’s real lives as written in the Bible.  I cannot wait to read The Runaway Prophet soon, though it is a standalone and was published before this novel.  I wonder what this author plans to bring her audience next. Whatever it is, I know I will be looking forward to devouring the tale!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

