When Death Draws Near

whendeathdrawsnear

Title:  When Death Draws Near (Gwen Marcey #3)

Author:  Carrie Stuart Parks

Pages:  330

Year:  2016

Publisher:  Thomas Nelson

My rating is 5 stars.

Gwen Marcey has fallen on hard times.  She has had to sell her home to pay off her medical bills from her prior breast cancer treatment.  She is divorced now and her ex-husband has remarried.  Their relationship is tenuous at best.  Her teenage daughter is dressing like a rebel now with the help of her new step-mom.  While on a case, she receives a call from her doctor after some recent testing and the news is not good.  Can Gwen’s faith sustain her or will she let anger and despair rule?

She has a job opportunity provided by her friend Dave, so she heads off to horse country in Kentucky.  While there, she is able to draw an accurate picture of a previously unidentified body.  An identification of the body is established based on the picture, and the parents of the victim are so impressed with Gwen’s talent, they invite her to a religious revival.  A local politician has befriended Gwen when the local police chief seems slow to investigate the murder as well as attempts to scare Gwen off the case.  The politician wants Gwen to infiltrate this particular religious group in the hopes of her then being able to draw those people in the group.  They allegedly are breaking the law with some of their religious practices and this politician has his eyes on working up the political ladder, so he wants to get some legislation on the books to make him look good.

This is another great mystery/suspense novel.  I have read all three books in the series so far and each one has been excellent!  I read quite a bit and the mystery/suspense genre is one of my favorites, so to find an author that can challenge my mind, make me laugh and stir compassion says a lot to me.  Gwen’s sense of humor rings so true with me and her struggles in life are realistic.  Her skill in forensic artistry I find amazing as I can’t even draw a stick figure!  The next book in the series is titled, Portrait of Vengeance, and is due to be released in August 2017.  These are books to place on your “keeper” shelf after sharing them with friends or family.  Great job Carrie!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

