The Lat Mile (Amos Decker Series)

the last mile review thelatmile

Title:  The Lat Mile (Amos Decker Series)

Author:  David Baldacci

Pages:  432

Year:  2016

Publisher:  Grand Central Publishing

My rating is 5 stars.

I am always on the hunt for a good story to read.  Reading is something that allows the imagination to fly and gives time for a break from real life.  The Last Mile was the first book I have read by this author, though he has written many.  The Last Mile hooked me from the first page and quickly kept me going as the story developed chapter after chapter.

Before my father passed away one thing he was getting tired of was authors putting so much sex in their books, and he quit reading because of that inclusion.  I was exceptionally glad to read The Last Mile and come across no sexual anything in the book!  True, there was some foul language, but even then it wasn’t over done with the focus on the story, which was such a suspense-filled mystery to be sure.  In fact, I didn’t even know about the first book in the series is titled, Memory Man, which I plan on reading soon.  Besides, who doesn’t like a thriller where sometimes it is hard to tell the protagonists from the antagonists?

The Amos character that has trouble never forgetting what he reads, hears or sees because of a head injury suffered while playing in the NFL only drew more into the book.  Then, an additional draw for me was to find out a man is on death row for two decades and is supposed to be walking his last mile when three men in suits show up along with four guards.  From there, the tale only grows exponentially in adventure and suspense and its conclusion makes me long for the next book the author pens.

I hope you give the author a chance to entertain you with his craftily woven tales.  He is an excellent writer and you might be surprised how much you enjoy the multifaceted plot!

Disclosure of Material Connection:  I received one or more of the products or services mentioned above for free in the hope that I would mention it on my blog.  Regardless, I only recommend products or services I use personally and believe will be good for my readers.  I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255. “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

Leave a Reply

